Pseudo-Wordless Wednesday

Coscinodiscus magnified 100x

I did an experiment today that involved looking at marine pollution levels in terms of phytoplankton species.  This is the image of a centric, single-celled diatom belonging to the genus Coscinodiscus, magnified 100x. The image below is a close-up image. I love that I get to do this every day!

Coscinodiscus magnified 100x


Posted on February 29, 2012, in Wordless Wednesday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Crazy to think that those are actually pollution magnified. You could make this into wall art! It is kinda neat 🙂

  2. Kat, Coscinodiscus are actually phytoplankton that live in water that’s free of pollution as well.

    Thanks! I think it looks cool too!

  3. I totally agree with Kat! That second photo would make an amazing wallhanging! Get into photoshop and pop art the colours a bit and voila!

  4. I had to take Bio 110 (or something equally LOW level) for my psychology degree and just could NOT catch on it was so dry.. However, I also did NOT get to see cool blobby stuff under and super duper high powered microscope either… that might have made a huge difference!
    What are you in school for?

  5. I love phytoplankton! hehe.
    Marine biology is amazing.

  6. Wow! Very cool. Radically different than the other pix posted. Sounds like you love your job.

    Paula
    Popping by from wordless Wednesday
    @inkscrblr
    Thriftymommastips

  7. Wow, cool pictures. It is really cool to see something so tiny, close up.

I love hearing from my readers! What's on your mind?

