Pseudo-Wordless Wednesday

My husband proposed to me four years ago this Thursday (2-16). Since we don’t do Wordless Thursday, I decided to go ahead and post it for Wordless Wednesday.

Here’s the abridged version of our engagement story:

I’m a giant science nerd. I always have been, and I always will be (I owned a microscope at 8, collected bugs and filed them as correctly as possible, in terms of taxonomy, from the age of 5. I majored in a science in college and basically minored in another area of science, I love teaching science to anyone and everyone who will listen, I identify best with Sheldon from The Big Bang Theory… you get the idea). My love of science isn’t limited to one field, but my heart lies with genetics (and marine biology).

My husband set up a whole display in an exhibit about the human genome at a local museum where I was volunteering. My mom’s birthday is Feb. 13th, so he set it up to propose the weekend my mom was going to be coming into town to celebrate with us. The picture is of some  of the flowers that he had waiting and a sign he had made to go in a huge timeline of scientific discoveries throughout the ages.

We walked through the exhibit, and I got to the end of the timeline and read it. I had no clue he was proposing, but I kept looking at it thinking “um.. I made a significant scientific contribution? Really? What did I discover?” I turned around, and he was down on one knee with a slideshow playing of things we had done together.

It was perfect.

Posted on February 15, 2012, in Wordless Wednesday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Yeah I don’t have a story anywhere near that! I was dating an Air Force guy and then he got short notice orders to Berlin, Germany. Do you think I would let him leave me behind? Or course not so we quickly went down to the courthouse and tied the knot. That was 20 years and 1 month ago and the rest in history!

    I found you on FB newbie group! Can you follow my FB and my blog back?

  2. What do you mean your story isn’t anywhere near mine?! I LOVE that story! Congratulations on your 20th anniversary by the way!

  3. So, your guy is amazing!

    And I am in LOVE with marine biology!!

  4. That’s beautiful! ❤
    My husband proposed online… in a group forum… 5000 people saw it before me!
    What if I said no??? =)

  5. That is such a great story! I don’t have a great engagement story. Me and my man have been together for 18 years and never married. lol.

  6. @Kristin: Thanks! I like to think he is. Marine bio = totally awesome.

    @Grandma Juice: A group forum?! That’s definitely a new one. Very unique at least lol.

    @Mistee: My parents did the same thing. They were married to each other, got divorced, and then my dad was with his girlfriend for 20 years. Neither of them actually got remarried though.

  7. That is a beautiful story. Thanks for sharing it.

  8. My husband proposed to me on Valentine’s Day. Some people may think it’s corny, but I love it! I’ve given you 2 awards: “Kreativ Blog Award” and “One Lovely Blog Award.”

  9. Thank you so much Meredith!! I checked out the rules and I’ll post everything tomorrow. Thank you again!

I love hearing from my readers! What's on your mind?

