Hello! Welcome to Let’s Call It Crispy.

Hello everyone and welcome to Let’s Call It Crispy! Please, allow me to introduce myself.

I’m Andrea, a newlywed twenty-something from the great state of Texas. My husband and I got married this past December (2010) just shy of 5 years of dating, just bought a house, and are working on the baby thing.

Somewhere over the course of baby research (you know, the pre-conception appointment with the doctor, charting and figuring all that out, pre-natal vitamins and when to start taking them, etc.), I learned about cloth diapers. I believe it was one of the mamas on a message board that brought the topic up. Intrigued, I started researching this concept of modern cloth diapering. In the midst of all of that it occurred to me that the choices I am making now will not only impact my body, but it will also likely impact my child and our planet.

This new way of thinking, I decided, is not limited to what sort of product we place on our child’s bum. This is more than that- the food we eat and how we eat it, the cleaning products we use and how we use them, even the things that we put on our skin and how long we leave it there all matter in our daily lives and influence the overall quality of our immediate environment. We started thinking about the values we want our children to grow up with, and one thing that is super important to the both of us is that the kids have a profound respect and understanding of how the choices they make impact the Earth. We want them to make informed decisions, eat local foods that are in season as much as feasibly possible, and make responsible choices themselves. Then we realized that we weren’t going to be able to teach them these things if we didn’t fully understand and participate ourselves.

A project that started with our desire to cloth diaper our child has lead to this entire lifestyle change- to a more “crunchy” way of life. The thing is, I personally cannot STAND the word crunchy. Crunchy conjures up an image to  of a person that hasn’t showered in weeks and probably smells like B.O. and has super nasty hair. Think hasn’t showered in days hippie from the 1960s/1970s. Therefore, I’m choosing to look at it as more a crispy way of living. (Note: this does not mean that I look at people who view themselves crunchy that way, I just cannot stand the word.)

Follow along as my husband and I share our brutally honest attempt to make ourselves healthy (by losing weight, eating the right food, etc.), our home healthy by using eco- and person- friendly products, and a healthy baby. I mean let’s face it, Kermit was right- it’s not always easy being green.

Just do me a favor… let’s call it crispy (not crunchy) OK?

Posted on October 13, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Very impressive Andrea, I totally agree with your concept as I to cloth diapered my two children, & yes at the rate our country is going with all the thousands of disposable luxury’s we readily consider needs, we will eventually all live in a environment that will be hazardous to our well being.
    I cannot count the times I have pulled into a parking lot and stepped out of my vehichle and nearly stepped on a dirty disposable diaper someone had tossed out.So for those who choose to use disposable diaper’s please at least be responsible enough to properly dispose of them.
    I am proud of you Andrea for speaking out for our country, God bless you and God bless the USA.

  2. Great post!!

I love hearing from my readers! What's on your mind?

