It’s Not Better Just Because the Label Says Organic

Finding decent quality snack items can be a challenge for me. The problems stem from a combination of eating breakfast really early in the morning, eating lunch early, but then eating dinner late. This, in combination with the fact that I get bored with food easily, makes finding a healthy afternoon snack difficult.

Therefore when I was shopping at a local co-op and came across these:

I was absolutely thrilled. I thought it looked great, it’s organic, I found it at a local co-op, YAY! So, I purchased a box. In case you’re wondering, yes, I had my phone on me, and yes, my Fooducate app was working. I was just so excited that I thought I found something healthy, I immediately grabbed it.

My husband and I had a few when we got home. It tasted… ok. It wasn’t great, but it wasn’t bad either. Then it occurred to me that I had a bag of the standard issue Goldfish leftover from a trip we took back in February. So, having regained some senses, I compared the two labels.

Huh. That's interesting.

Nutritionally, they’re basically the same except that the serving size on the Goldfish is just a little more, Goldfish has one more gram of protein, and Goldfish has two grams of fiber. They are the same in terms of caloric values, but Goldfish wins in terms of lower sodium, but Annie’s wins in terms of lower overall fat.

Now that I was thinking clearly, I busted out Fooducated and scanned them both:


Fooducate gives Annie’s a B-, and Goldfish a B, confirming what I had already suspected.

The point I’m trying to make here is that just because a label says organic, and just because the ingredients for a particular item all say organic (the ingredients list for Annie’s basically claims to be organic everything), doesn’t necessarily make it a healthier option because at the end of the day, it’s all processed. Don’t fall into the buzzword trap like I so embarrassingly did.

Posted on April 9, 2012, in Total Randomness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. So glad that I didn’t buy into that particular Organic Label! and I’m going to have to download Fooducate it looks cool!

  2. Interesting, thanks for posting! It’s true that we need to be careful. All products advertise to sell, so they say what we want to hear sometimes!

  3. That’s a great tip! thank you!

  4. Very interesting! Thanks for sharing. I’ll use a little more caution. You are right about at the end of the day it’s all processed!

  5. I’ve heard that companies only have to have a certain % to be able to use the word “organic”. Guess we need to return to the days of growing our own food.

  6. Hey if you like goldfish and are wanting to eat them I think I have a recipe somewhere for make your own goldfish. They are healthier than the other goldfish, but I don’t know if they taste the same or not. I haven’t tried it yet.

I love hearing from my readers! What's on your mind?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

